61st Annual Butte American Legion, Montana Technologies-MSE Veterans' Day Race

Wednesday, 11 November 1998 – Youth and Experience Served

As recapped by Pat Kearney: Race organizers decided to take some steps to attract more runners, especially younger runners to the race. Montana Technologies-MSE became involved as a sponsor of the race. Each contestant was given a tee shirt for their participation in the event.

There were also four new trophies established: the C. Owen Smithers Trophy to the top male runner at 5.2-miles. Smithers was one of the co-race founders. The Martin Kearney Trophy went to the top boy in the fourteen and under age group at 2.5-miles. Kearney was the 1940 winner and a longtime race coordinator. The top women runner at 5.2-miles got the Mary Whelan Trophy named after the first open women's winner in the 1976 race and the top girl fourteen and under in the 2.5 mile race received the Liza Merrifield Trophy named after the first girl junior high winner in 1973.

There was also high school team trophies added to the event this year. It is the first time high school team trophies were to be awarded since 1975 which was the last year the event was held as a high school only race.

With the emphasis on youth it seems only fitting that a youngster would win the race. Helena Capital junior Rowdy Sargeson won the 5.2 mile race in a time of 30:12. He is the first high school student to win the open race since 1976 when Bill Kearney of Butte Central captured the event in the first year the event was open to everyone. Sargeson covered the snow covered slippery streets 42 seconds faster than 46 year old Donald Sundberg of Butte who was second.

The women's open winner was a familiar face, Susan Kaluza of Butte. She won the event for the 8th time. Her winning mark was 34:49. Sherry Vogel was second in a time of 38:58.

In the shorter 2.5 mile race Michael Crowe, a freshmen at Butte Central, won the race in 16:49. Michael is the son of 1976 women's open winner Mary Whelan Crowe. It is the first mother-son combination to both win the race.

The girls winner was Marnee Worley of East Middle School with a clocking of 20:37. The high school team trophy went to Anaconda, which was the only school to field a team. The Copperheads were led by J.D. Anderson who was third overall in the event. The race attracted 64 runners with 13 coming in the 14 and under category in the shorter 2.5 mile race.

| Finishers | 2.5 M | 5.2 M | Total | 2.5 Mile Females: |
|---------------------------------------|-------|-------|-------|--|
| Female | 8 | 13 | 21 | 0-14: 1, Marnee Worley, Butte, 20:37; 2, Rose Henn, 25:22; 3, Noelle Jeffery, 25:22; 4, Tawny Green, 26:47. |
| Male | 14 | 29 | 43 | |
| Total | 22 | 42 | 64 | 19-25: 1, Rosalyn Fay, 31:22. 25: 44: 1, Decry Bonton, 32:02 |
| 35-44: 1, Peggy Benton, 32:02. | | | | |

45-54: 1, Teri Tyvand, 25:05; 2, Mary Lyn Fay, 48:00.

2.5 Mile Males:

0-14: 1, Mike Crowe, Butte, 16:49; 2, Robert Green, 18:50; 3, Rory Kaluza, Butte, 19:29; 4, Ryan Doherty, 19:57; 5, Matt Brophy; 20:26; 6, Mike Lovshin, Butte, 20:52; 7, Jonathan Rowe, 22:35; 8, Aaron Juhl, 23:51; 9, Jacob Kearney, Helena, 30:59.

15-18: 1, Mike Banks, 18:19, 2, John Groce, 35:25.

35-44: 1, Danny Kaluza, Butte, 20:09.

45-54: 1, James Fry, 27:19.

55⁺: 1, Philip Zamudio, NT.

5.2 Mile Females Overall: 1, Susan Kaluza, 34:49; 2, Sherry Vogel, 38:58; 3, Eddi Walker, 39:27.

15-18: 1, Jennifer Williams, 48:08; 2, Chandra Kindt, 54:55.

19-25: 1, Jennifer Ullman, 47:36.

26-34: 1, Cindy Susanj, 53:30.

35-44: 1, Suzie Kaluza, Butte, 34:49; 2, Cheryl Peterslie, Butte, 48:22; 3, Pam Graham, 73:52.

45-54: 1, Sherry Vogel, Butte, 38:58; 2, Eddi Walker, Butte, 39:27; 3, Pam Naugle, Butte, 46:29; 4, Sheila Franey,

Butte, 47:03; 5, Pat Sheehan, 73:52.

55⁺: 1, Marie Cook, Butte, NT.

5.2 Mile Males Overall: 1, Rowdy Sargeson, 30:12; 2, Don Sundberg, 30:54; 3, J.D. Anderson, 31:12. **15-18:** 1, Rowdy Sargeson, Helena, 30:12; 2, J.D. Anderson, Anaconda, 31:12; 3, Mitch Cunningham, 31:38; 4, Kevin Kovacich, Anaconda, 34:17; 5, John Groce, 35:25; 6, Kevin Heaney, Anaconda, 35:49; 7, Matt Cozby, 37:27; 8, Michael Schultz, 38:01.

19-25: 1, Toby Clarkin, 36:28; 2, Levi Kryder, 39:18; 3, Bill Foley, Butte, 42:16.

26-34: 1, Don Foley, Butte, 37:14; 2, Bob Whelan, Butte, 40:30.

35-44: 1, Marvin Speece, Butte, 31:15; 2, John Tomich, Butte, 35:11; 3, Martin Kearney, 36:56; 4, Pat Kearney, Butte, 37:33; 5, Tim Hahn, 42:36.

45-54: 1, Don Sundberg, Butte, 30:54; 2, Chris Wareham, Butte, 32:12; 3, Leon Shearman, Bozeman, 35:50; 4, Joe Griffin, Butte, 38:44; 5, Jim Hodges, 42:24; 6, Jim Mullins, 56:29; 7, Albert Lovshin, Butte, 66:40. **55⁺:** 1, Andrew Sandgray, Helena, 37:52; 2, Bruce Robinson, Butte, 39:25; 3, John Wulf, Butte, 47:21; 4, Don Peoples, Butte, 48:21.